• The Conference

History of FEW Scholarships

In the early 2000s, BBI International began an effort to direct attention to the ethanol industry and rural community development by providing scholarship money to individuals interested in possibly working in the ethanol industry. By 2005, the International Fuel Ethanol Workshop & Expo (FEW) was awarding $500 scholarships to as many as five students. The FEW Scholarship program has taken different shapes since but with the end result always being to fund monies to at least a couple students each year heading to college or a technical school. The tradition continues this year at the FEW with special recognition and memory of Kathy Bryan, former President of BBI International and Co-founder of the FEW.

2016 Winners
Patrick Thimes – North Platte, NE
Patrick’s dad is Safety Manager at Mid America Agri Products
Madrid, NE

Don Jackson – Fountain City, IN
Don is a Shift Supervisor at Cardinal Ethanol
Union City, IN

2015 Winners
Jacqueline Peel – Little York, IL
Jackie’s dad is Plant Manager at Big River Resources
Galva, Illinois

Kole Ruml – Lake Park, IA
Kole’s dad is Ethanol Cook/Operator at Green Plains Renewable Energy
Superior, IA

2014 Winners
Rebecca Woller – Financial Accountant
Homeland Energy Solutions LLC
Colby Cook – Process Engineer

2013 Winners
Rachel Hayes – Wichita, KS. 2013 Graduate - Maize South High School
Rachel's dad is GM, Green Plains Obion
Bryan Bush – Marcus, IA. Safety Coordinator/Utility Operator
Little Sioux Corn Processors

2012 Winners
Hillary Kletscher – Lamberton, MN. Attending: Iowa State University
Affiliated Ethanol Plant: Highwater Ethanol LLC…Hillary’s dad is the CEO at Highwater Ethanol
Jason Croat – Rushmore, MN. Attending: South Dakota State University
Affilitated Ethanol Plant: Poet Research … Jason worked at Poet Research for the last 3 summers

2011 Winners
Bailee McClellan – Dyersville, Iowa
Bailee is the daughter of an employee at Big River United Energy
Marh Schrock – Mount Vernon, Indiana
Mary is an employee of Abengoa Bioenergy of Indiana

2010 Winners
Mary Krull – Spencer, Iowa
Mary’s dad is Plant Manager for Valero Renewables-Albert City
Nicholas Ballard – Galva, Illinois
Nicholas’ dad is Process Operator for Big River Resources LLC

2009 Winners
Kevin Potas – Plymouth, MN
Laura Koenig – Butterfield, MN

2008 Winners
Hugh Howe – Chariton, IA
Nancy Bawa – Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Colin Sorenson – Missoula, MT
American Stainless & Supply sponsored the 2008 scholarship
American Stainless representatives stand on two ends

2007 Winners
Christopher Simmons – Davis, CA
Rachel Campbell – Guelph, Ontario
Dawn Anderson – Granite Falls, MN
American Stainless & Supply sponsored the 2007 scholarship
American Stainless representatives stand on two ends

2006 Winners
Nicholas Bowdish – Monroe, WI
Jessica Morgan– Fairmont, MN
Tony Malmquist – Granite Falls, MN
Shannon Mulder – Granite Falls, MN
Eric Farrow – Cape Girardeau, MO

2005 Winners
Darrel Ocrane - University of Saskatoon – “Academic Scholarship”
Kevin Theiler - Fridley, MN – “Operations Scholarship”
John Mack - Univ of CA, Davis – “Academic Scholarship”

Platinum Level Sponsors

Gold Level Sponsors

Silver Level Sponsors

Supporting Organizations

Media Partner

Produced By